Team Chevelle banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am re-doing my 70 and need to redo the wiring- for sure under the hood. I have never done this before and all the kits look pretty generic. How is this done so that you get a professional look? Has anybody re-used thier existing block and run new wires? If so how did you do that? I have never done this so maybe I am missing something here, just looking for advice. Basically the spot that I am in is from the firewall back everything is in pretty good shape, but firewall forward is pretty cut-up and in poor shape. I am looking for the most cost effective, but professional way to do this. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks-
Nick

·
Registered
1,239 Posts
The generic kits arn't to bad,the hardest part is going to be the dash wiring and engine harness.

If you are going to have alot of custom stuff,amps,power windows/locks ect use the generic kits.But if you've got the money and want to keep it looking original i'd get a harness from wiringharness.com

The easiest thing you can do if your going custom is just take alot of pics of the existing wiring and go by that.Get some of that wiring tape,not electrical tape,the original is some kind of non-sticky fabric tape.That will cover up any mistakes or splices you have.

Save all your original connectors,you may have to reuse them.You can get generic white connectors at the parts stores but the white doesn't look to good.I guess you could stain or paint them black.

·
Registered
7,758 Posts
The underhood wiring basically consists of the engine harness and the forward lamp harness. These are not generic from M & H. They are built for your particular car and engine. Drop-fit that looks like the original. Just plug them in. They can even custonmize for you if you have something like HEI ignition. http://www.wiringharness.com/

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ss396- thanks for the reply.