Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
417 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the newest mags just pulled a 6.0L iron truck motor, put a carb and ignition on it, stuck a cam in it and dyno'd at 480hp. Total price was like $2000. Granted these are magazine power #'s, but thats still at least 450hp with accesory's. And thats mostly stock. My question is whats the reason to build a Gen I when the GenIII's are getting so cheap? I haven't even started my stroker and Im thinking about selling it and going this route.

·
Registered
9,037 Posts
I'm just getting started on swapping the head gaskets in my 5.3 in a 2000 GMC and I would do 5 Gen 1 motors to this freakin thing, The old ones were SOOO easy to work on. I like working on my 406SB but absoutley HATE working on this truck.

LK

·
Registered
7,044 Posts
I can't even find a gen III in a junk yard around here, and any used sources will be well over $2000 before I do anything to it.

Jeff

·
Premium Member
333 Posts
I'm just getting started on swapping the head gaskets in my 5.3 in a 2000 GMC and I would do 5 Gen 1 motors to this freakin thing, The old ones were SOOO easy to work on. I like working on my 406SB but absoutley HATE working on this truck.

LK
i disagree, but its all a matter of opinion. i enjoy working on either and have found that the gen 3's are quite easier to do cam swaps on than gen1's. they are pretty much the same to work on to me.

·
Registered
2,521 Posts
You're right about the swap as far as a short list of parts needed but untill theres a million out there in the recycling yards my gen1 is fine.

There was an artical in CHP with a Gen1 Vs. a Gen3 and same money was spent 402 Vs. 406 and made very close to the same numbers (less than 10 apart) The one thing they did say was the 402 Gen3 was more streetable.

Here it is.
http://www.chevyhiperformance.com/t...s/0701ch_chevy_small_block_engine_dyno_tests/

·
Super Moderator
13,358 Posts
put a carb and ignition on it