Team Chevelle banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
O.K. My wife just bought me a 71 Chevelle for our 10th anniversary. Seems to run great although there's some noise in the rear end (sort of humming at different speeds). The brakes aren't working well and the back end seems to be sitting low. I am totally new to working on cars but know a lot of people to help me out. I'm looking forward to this learning experience but am not sure where and what parts I should get. I'd greatly appreciate any and all suggestions!

·
Registered
6,399 Posts
Well, you sure came to the right place!

Check out the search function - once you know what you want to work on, there's tons of info from previous questions to look through that help out a lot.

Personally, I've seen too many brake failures on old cars - it's absolutely the first thing I would tackle. You can stop great without altering much just by using praisedynobrake.com products if you're using drums.

However, your lines are my personal worry point, as I've had one of my own cars fail due to lines rusting from the inside. Not to scare you, but just be aware - you likely just need a good flush and new pads/shoes etc.

After that, it's whatever bugs you the most, LOL - there's always something to do. But safety items like brakes and suspension are key IMO. Most of them have really bad bushings and can use new springs/shocks and bushings that will make a world of difference in handling.

Congrats (NICE WIFE!) and enjoy it!

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Hi Kurt -

Our wives are a lot alike. Yours bought you a car and mine let me buy a car.

Marks' comments and advice are spot on. You want to address those brakes first thing.