Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
That term “if it isn’t broken, don’t fix it” truly fits my current situation. HELP!

so I have a 70 Chevelle with a 502 bbc. It’s all stock, has a 4 row radiator and the fan is just a mechanical one. When I bought the car it had the “green stuff” in the radiator. I would always see my tempt hovering around 200-220 degrees and never any overheating issues. Just felt it was still running pretty hot. The car had a 195 degree thermostat and had heater hoses going to heater core and radiator. Here’s what it looked like:
Bicycle tire Automotive tire Motor vehicle Vehicle Vehicle brake

So I wanted to change a few things, I got a 160 degree thermostat, decided to block off the heater core and remove the hoses while capping the top of the intake and radiator portion as well. I drained the green stuff a few times (3 times) and I know it wasn’t completely flushed out. I would add hose water and attempt to flush out the remainder of the green stuff. So after draining it once more, I added new coolant. I added two gallons of Zerex G05 50/50. Went for a short drive and holy hell my temp gauge shot past 250 and saw radiator fluid on my way back home. Got home and the lower radiator hose was pulsing from how hot it was. Haven’t checked it since. And here’s what the motor looks like now:
Car Hood Motor vehicle Vehicle Automotive design
Brown Liquid Fluid Gas Personal care

Did I just not add enough coolant back in? When I added those two gallons, it filled the radiator up to the top. I’m assuming there wasn’t enough coolant, but then again what do I know.

·
Registered
448 Posts
Take the thermostat out, go drive it again, and report back.

Where is your temp sensor located? How accurate is it?