Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
978 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't sleep,,,,,I need to vent!! Please read,

I will try to sum this up. I'm 28 yrs old and I build SBC at my home 1 to 2 times a year, mainly for friends. I have been doing this for money for the last 5 years or so. I'm no pro, but I do quality work and I'm honest.
I have been working on the car since Nov 07'. It was for a friend I have known for about 4 years. He wanted a basic rebuild with a few extra chrome pieces. We had a set price for me to pull, rebuild and get the motor running. Well it turned into a huge all chrome/polished alum crap. Before I started I asked about the labor and he said he would take care of it and make it worth my wild. I trusted him,,, I mean this guys has money. He makes 50k a year and still lives with his mom.
The whole set up has over 8k in it. I have worked my butt off. I have stressed out my wife and myself. When something says Universal,, that means you will have to cut, grind, beat, bend and curse it to fit.
Just some of the things I've done. I ported the heads a little (7-8hrs), Billet specialties brackets (11-12hrs), summit remote P\S pump (35-40hrs) Don't asked, headers (12-13hrs) because some idiot welded air shocks on the FRONT and made the upper control arm kick out and hit the header, Chrome master cylinder w\booster (25-27hrs) It was pulling air and finally found a hole in the brake cylinder, Someone put JB weld and the harmonic balancer bolt, The $850 BeCool radiator was not a direct fit, Installed an MSD box, painted the whole engine bay, removed unnecessary wires, installed dual Optima batteries w\ alum trays, installed stainless steel hose wrap on everything, I went to the part store over 25 times, I've got every bit of 40hrs on the Internet re-searching crap and I changed the oil twice and the trans fluid. I gave him EVERY receipt that was spent and he did pay me every time I gave him one. There is WAY more,, believe me.