Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm curious how those who are in the midst of long restorations keep themselves energized for the long and tedious task of restoring their Chevelles. I've been working on mine for 1 1/2 years and it sometimes gets pretty crazy. I'm spending about 3 times the $'s and time that I thought it would take. At times it seems like I find more wrong, than right on the car. Please share who or what helps keep you on track and what you are restoring. Mine is a 70 SS LS6 with build sheet.

·
Registered
636 Posts
Since I am now nearing the end of a 4 year frame off resto on my 70, I guess the reason I keep motivated is whenever I start to get frustrated I can go down to Sonic on Friday night to the cruise in and see about 100 nice cars. Usually thats all it take to get back the drive to go to work. Also just seeing one on the road and knowing that mine will be as nice if not nicer that most of the ones I see around here is a good motivation to keep plugging away. Mat

------------------

·
Registered
66 Posts
I know what you are asking. After several months of working on the mechanical and strippping down to bear metal and doing bodywork all in my spare time, I got real low. I know what my 1970 El Camino will look like when I am finished, but this was not enough at this time. I had not planned on this purchase at this time, but I went and bought my SST Cragar Mags and tires and put them on my truck. One look, and back to work I went.

·
Lifetime Founding Member
14,651 Posts