Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Holley 750dp. The former owner just told me that he had installed a power valve "block". What would this be for, and what else should I know. The car definitely seems to be running rich. Would this have anything to do with it?

------------------
Bob Von Kaenel
Lincoln, NE
70 SS 402ci+.030 TH400 3.73 posi Cranberry Red

We've not been called upon to hold the fort, but rather, to storm the heights!

·
Registered
982 Posts
With a power valve "block" it is always going to run a little fatter at idle, basically becuase you have to upjet about 10 sizes, in order to keep up with upper RPM fueling needs.

I'm no engineer, but here's my take on it: The powervalve is a vacuum operated valve, in most cases just in the front bowl. It begins to open as vacuum decreases(normally at the halfway mark of full engine vac), and allows more fuel to enter the metering block, equaling out the jetting front to back, but allowing for a cleaner idle due to the use of a smaller front jet.

------------------
"Put the strength to the test"

**Dave Armstrong**
'67 Chevelle 396/Th400/4.10
12.45 @ 107 mph. 1.74 60ft

'95 Firebird Formula LT1(2FST4LOV)
14.0 @ 97mph daily driver
The Burnout
The Launch
The MAN!!!(the guy in the black shirt)

·
Registered
638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So...for a more streetable car would you put a power valve back in and back off the jets a couple of sizes?

Also, there's no vacuum advance on this Mallory Comp 9000 distributor. Does that play into this in any way?

·
Premium Member
16,932 Posts
Bob, yes the lack of vacuum advance will cause poor economy in cruise mode.You should run it for any street car, particularly with your cam.