·
Registered
927 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,338 Posts
Something just does not look right. I am not a expert so will let the guys in the know figure it out.

·
Super Moderator
12,718 Posts
Impossible to tell anything from your picture but they look fine to me. What do think does not look right ?

·
Vendor
9,154 Posts
Just got my engine back from the builder, I had the valve covers off and noticed the Valve Retainers and locks look a little weird, I'm running Edelbrock RPM heads with 11/32 Valves;

What do you guys think??

I'm using 10 Degree Retainers & locks

- Manley Street Master Steel Standard Valve Spring Retainers 23636-16
https://www.summitracing.com/int/parts/man-23636-16

- Manley 10 Degree Machined Standard Valve Locks 13097-16
https://www.summitracing.com/int/parts/man-13097-16
That's pretty far for a set of keepers to extend above a retainer. That needs to come apart and verify lock angle and included angle on retainer.

·
Premium Member
6,338 Posts
That's pretty far for a set of keepers to extend above a retainer. That needs to come apart and verify lock angle and included angle on retainer.
I kinda thought that Chris, it almost looks to me like there is something in the locks keeping them from sitting into the groove on the valve, the space is way too wide. I have all edelbrock stuff on my heads and the keepers are almost touching with a much smaller gap and they do sit near flush.

·
Premium Member
6,338 Posts
Impossible to tell anything from your picture but they look fine to me. What do think does not look right ?
Those keepers or locks are not sitting in there correctly is what I see. The gap also looks wrong on between them.

Reactions: NickeyChevelle

·
Super Moderator
12,718 Posts