Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you've seen my other posts, you know I'm brand new to Chevelles, and cars in general. I see lots of people talking about how headers improve performance, but I'm not quite sure what they are, where they go, or what they do. Yeah, I'm an idiot, but I'm working on it. I appreciate y'all's advice, and if you don't mind, there'll be a lot more of these basic questions coming. I appreciate all the advice, it makes jumping into a _really_ complicated world a little bit easier.--Rookie

------------------
'72 350 Malibu
Team Chevelle #528

·
Registered
567 Posts
Welcome to our ranks "Rookie"!, To answer your question, "headers" are performance exhaust manifolds of sorts. What I mean is,they replace your normally restrictive exhaust manifolds by using free flowing tubing to go from your heads to your exhaust pipes. Check this out: http://www.flowtech.com/index2.html
you can see what they look like. Of course' this is only one of many styles/types.

------------------
Jungle Jim #105 Gold
70SS396 & 70 Malibu~
"Fight the good Fight every moment, every minute,every day. Make it worth the price you pay!"

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So the heads are where the exhaust leaves the engine, and headers move it to the pipes quicker and faster to make more room for new combustion? How are headers different from normal exhaust? And to push it further, how does exhaust play a part in performance, and do dual/wider exhaust pipes mean more horsepower? Thanks for the input junglejimmie, I'm a babe in the woods. Fortunately, I have a great-looking car, makes the woods a little less lonely.

------------------
'72 350 Malibu
Team Chevelle #528

[This message has been edited by Rookie (edited 01-29-2000).]

·
Registered
1,525 Posts