Chevelles.com banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning on transporting my 1970 Chevelle a bunch of hours via u-haul auto transport and was wondering if anyone who has experience with u-haul rentals had any tips, advice or thoughts.

I reserved the car transporter through their website and hoping that they have a strong database of car sizes as it would be really frustrating if the car didn't fit.* I also read that using any sort of car cover is a bad idea as it may ruin the paint.* I was considering some sort of transport wrap for the front of the car in case any rocks pop up from the u-haul (I'm renting the truck too).

So that's all the detail, but being it's my first time renting*one I wanted to see if anyone had any thoughts.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1967 Chevelle SS 396 L78 (Sold in 1970)
249 Posts
It should be fine....check all electrical connections before you hit the road....a good U-Haul dealer will check things out for you. Keep any extra weight toward the front of the trailer to avoid trailer sway at the rear. Never load a trailer of any kind with too much weight at the rear!

Tie down the axles to the trailer & put the car in gear (or park if auto). I’d put the emergency brake on as well. I’m going
from memory so I hope it’s right!

Definitely NO CAR COVER! Clear covering on the front would probably be ok but not really needed.

Your best bet is don’t follow close behind other vehicles especially semi tractor trailers to minimize air disturbance and debris flying around.

You will be fine!

Good luck!

·
Registered
114 Posts
I hauled mine from Indiana to tenesse with one and it did fine.
I was actually very happy with the experience

Good luck

·
Registered
1,092 Posts