Chevelles.com banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i got a 70 malibue i need some music in my car i have a cheap tape deck from car toys and some speakers out of my 86 cutless what do i do to hook this up
thanks josh

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
Are you asking which wire out of the tape deck goes where? Didn't come with a diagram? Guessing that there's a red, black, green, gray, and orange wire.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no the deck was really cheap because it was on display and i have never done a stereo before so i am clueless

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
Ok, going to be leaving shortly but in the meantime:
What color wires are coming out of the back of the unit?

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ok i no witch wires go to the speakers but there are yellow, black, red and blue that i dont no about. and then there is a thick black wire i think for the antenae and another thick black wire that has a cap on it i think it is for a cd changer.

·
Premium Member
4,477 Posts
Originally posted by josh sorenson:
ok i no witch wires go to the speakers but there are yellow, black, red and blue that i dont no about. and then there is a thick black wire i think for the antenae and another thick black wire that has a cap on it i think it is for a cd changer.
Josh, beware if it was really cheap, you get what you pay for sometimes, regardless if it was a display model or not.

The vast majority of the time:
yellow is your main power/memory power wire. This needs a constant 12 volts (even when the car is off). Splice this into the orange wire that feeds your cigarette lighter.