Team Chevelle banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Administrator
1,950 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)

• Total Timing

R.H.. - &nbsp I have a 66 396 in a 68 SS. I replaced the point distributor with an Accel HEI. The cam was replaced by the previous owner, I was told it is a Lunati 108 centerline cam (not sure of the numbers, but it is a mild street cam with a lot of lope). I was trying to set the timing, but at the book 4 deg before, it dies. If I set it around 10-12 it seems to run ok. I was told with the HEI I may have to go to 8, but it doesn't run well there either. I'm no expert tuner, but this doesn't seem right. I did replace the timing tab, so my thought is maybe it is just reading incorrect. Any suggestions, or would taking it and having it diagnosed be the answer.

G.M. - &nbsp Without the stock cam, the manufacturer's timing specs are useless. You will need to either set the timing for full advance, which is usually 35° ATDC @ the rpm when the mechanical and vacuum(if used)advances are maxed out (3000 rpm ?). Or you can just set it for where it runs good and will still start, whereas the starter can still turn it over when the car is warm. Too far advanced, and it will make the starter drag.

B.S. - &nbsp Rob, Unless you have something else wrong, you don't have a "mild" cam if you have a loping idle. A loping idle is caused by a long duration cam with lots of overlap! These cams require LOTS of advance in initial static timing in order to have any bottom end at all. It is quite common to run at up to as much as 14 or 16 degrees BTDC static timing, as long as you limit TOTAL timing, with all mechanical advance in, to 36 or 38 degrees.

Here is some info I provided to another Chevelle enthusiast who was new to engine timing procedures:

If you have never set TOTAL timing before, it may not be immediately obvious exactly how that's done.