Team Chevelle banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3,030 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm the guy who started posting last December with questions like: "Is it really worth it to go from a TH400 to a TKO?" Questions progressed to "how do I remove the TH400?" and on to "how much flywheel runout is acceptable?", and finally, "are muscle cars with manuals pretty rambunctuous?". Well, it's all done and buttoned up now. It was an entertaining journey, an hour here, and hour there.

If you are pondering a TKO set up, wondering how it all fits and goes together, click and then maximize the thumbnail below. IMHO, it comes out pretty clean looking.

Feel free to ask any questions about what you see. I am not an expert, but I do have opinions now from my rookie experience point of view. And if you haven't done something like this, may I suggest a kit from an acknowledged good vendor like ClassicChevy5Speed. Those guys were incredible to work with.

Attachments

·
Registered
155 Posts
who lives close enough to gibbons to sneak over & smear some grease or something on that too clean underside??........:D

·
Registered
3,030 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I won't need any help with getting the underside dirty. I thought I had an oil pan gasket leak, so while I had my motor out and upside down, I replaced the gasket. Turns out it's the rear main. DOH! :clonk: Man, it was right there for the fixing and I didn't do it! I have about 10 paper towels rolled into a burrito and stuffed between the oil pan and block plate to soak up drips. It better not get on my clutch or I will have blood shooting out of my eyes.

By the way, that's how the QuickTime scattershield fits. That is a nice unit! CC5S turned me on to it.