Team Chevelle banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every tech article I read on hooking up a three-wire alternator (SI) talks about the color of the factory wiring, and the hookup to the warning light in the dash.

The only factory wiring in my car is in the steering column harness. The rest I made myself, so colors, bulkhead connector, etc. are all completely different.

I have a 100-amp Powermaster alternator that works fine as a One-wire, but I want to hook it up for the remote voltage sensing that I've heard so much about lately.

BTW, Powermaster One-wire alternators are supposed to be able to be hooked up using either one-wire or three wires, so it's a "plug-and-play" (supposedly) to a vehicle originally equipped with an SI.

The Regulator is plugged off with a rubber cover. The two "R" terminals are numbered "1" and "2".

edit: In this article, the voltage sensing wire is the brown wire, which goes from the #2 terminal (on my alternator) to the main junction. I guess this is what I have to hook up.

Do I need to do anything with the other terminal? Do I have to have a warning light for this to work? Or will initial excitation continue to occur when I rev the engine above 1000 or so?

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Additionally, the sensing terminal isn't internally jumpered to the main output terminal on the Powermaster alternator. I just checked it with my meter to be sure. There is not 12 V at either regulator terminal.

I have run SI alternators in the past with a jumper from the sensing terminal to the main output post, "mimicking" a one-wire alternator.

I'm not sure what's different on the Powermaster alternator, but something must be different internally to allow excitation without the regulator wiring attached.

·
Registered
1,761 Posts
basically the color doesn't matter