Chevelles.com banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, i am new at the muscle car thing, but i purchaced a 68 chevelle ss clone with a 350 from a 69 impala. the problem started last winter, when the friend i bought it from tried to start it when it was seriously cold out (-34). now, when i first start it, it starts smooth, no problem. after it runs for a few minutes, i turn it off and try to start it again and the starter motor stalls, and doesn't have enough ass to turn it over (makes awful chattering noises in the attempt). i have replaced :
-the starter
-the heavy cable from the battery to the starter
-the wire to the s terminal
-and the 12 gauge wire to the same bolt as the large wire
the battery is a new, 750 amp battery. is this not enough? the compression is 10:1. i have also replaced the ignition switch. two of the wires in the harness that plugs into the ignition switch have some heat damage, the "acc" and the "batt" wires. i am at a loss. the ignition is an accel electronic ignition. is there supposed to be a wire to the r terminal? it there supposed to be a wire in addition to the heavy cable on the same post? i am an electrical tech, but am unfamiliar with car electrical systems. please help me out, i am seriously in a bind here. thanks all

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
Don't believe with that brand of electronic ignition you need a wire on the "R" terminal any longer. The line is an output from the srarter to the coil, so it won't help your starting problem. Can't here what noise the starter is making. I'll assume it just has a hard time turning over. You tried everything on the positive side of the circuit. Try checking your grounds. Mainly the one where the negative cable screws on the engine. Starter does have the rear support in place?

·
Premium Member
4,477 Posts