Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
wellI thought I had all of my hot start problems fixed. but it crapped out me again today. not hte normal way tho so im thinking it may be a new problem. it all ran fine, then out of the blu when I tried to start it after coming out a store. the starter just clicks... and someties I hear a whine I think comeing from the distributer or coil.
when I try to crank it my voltometer drops to 8 is that normal? I think it droped to 10 when I started it before.
sorry about the length of this letter but im a college student and I really need to get to class tomarow.

Justin McIver

·
Registered
337 Posts
You need a new starter solenoid, that's where the whining sound is comming from that you hear. real common on chevys

·
Premium Member
8,074 Posts
I'm not advocating that you generally fix things with a hammer, but if you're in a jam a rap or two with a hammer on the solenoid can sometimes get you on your way. Hurry or you'll be late for class!

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
its a brandnew starter from napa.im running a ford solinoid too.
is there anyway to tell if its the ford unit that is bad?

is that the only thing that would cause this?

·
Registered
5 Posts
I would recommend using a minimum 10 gauge wire going from your Ford solenoid to the starter solenoid. Also check the terminal ends for proper crimp. Solder is the best way to go. Also inspect the positive cable starter end for tightness and lug penetration. I traced my BBC hot start woes to a loosely crimped wire. Heat expands metal; my embarassment occured in the pre-stage lane at the Friday night drags! Good luck...SD

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
well the hammer trick fixed it.
how long will it last after the hammer trick?

what causes the solenoid to go bad?
the starter has dragged sometimes from the first day I put it in.