Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, note that I am a total newbie to this -- so please excuse any ignorance. I just bought a 1970 SS for my wife yesterday -- and really have very little knowledge when it comes to cars -- but I'm certainly willing to learn!

The problem is that, probably 75% of the time, turning the key to start the car will do nothing but "click." The guy that I bought it from simply said "it does that sometimes." Basically, if you turn it back and forth a few times (sometimes a lot more than a few times), it will finally decide to turn over and eventually starts.

I'm not even sure where to start with this! To be honest, I don't even know where to find the starter under the hood at this point! Can anyone lead me in the right direction on what I should be looking at?

(If you feel "he's way too newbie for this", feel free to tell me to try to find a real mechanic!)

Thanks much!

- John...

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
John
I never send anyone to a mechanic if they are willing to try and do the job themselves. First off the sound you hear is the solenoid engaging. The solenoid is mounted on top of the starter. Its job is to apply power to the starter motor and push the starter gear into the flywheel gear to turn the engine.
The solenoid/starter is located on the passenger side of the engine. It’s down by the pipes at the rear of the engine, silverish is color, about 10 inches long and round. The large cable from battery (+) is connected to the solenoid/starter.
The solenoid clicking is usually caused by not having enough power to turn the starter motor. It takes a lot of power to turn a starter. That’s why the battery needs to be as big as it is.
A few things could cause this problem. However the first things to look for are:
1, Weak battery.
2, Dirty battery cable connections.
3, Bad battery cables