Team Chevelle banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Premium Member
2,256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This post is for you folks running a Moser 12-Bolt rear-end looking for a spherical bearing for the upper ears. If I'm late to the party, please forgive me. I've been looking for a spherical bearing for a while, but all the ones I've found available have been for stock 12bolt ears and if you're a Moser owner, you know Moser upper ears are thicker than stock. Well, I found some available from HRPartsNStuff that will fit the Moser ears with minimal work. They consist of a main bearing that is pressed in the housing, a spacer, and a spirolox. I installed one tonight. What I found is the bearing bore IS NOT perpendicular/square to the outer edge of the ear so the bearing appears "cocked". I studied it for a minute then whipped out the die grinder and stone and spent about 3 minutes radiusing about 2/3'rds the circumference of one side so the spacer and spirolox would fit on the other side. As you can see, I did a little too much on the first ear, but I don't think it will be a problem since the main bearing is still a press fit, it's just there for insurance. Anyhow, this beats what I've found available so far and the machining that would have been necessary to make them work. I also picked up the HRPSTUFF bearing install/removal tool and it is NICE!!!! Sorry if this sounds like an info-mercial, but I like it when stuff works. You could do this with the rear under the car, but the grinding would be cumbersome. I did one ear tonight and looking at the counter bore line on the other ear, I expect to be doing the same to it.

Hope this helps anyone looking for this type bearing with the "thick ear" rear ends.

· Registered
461 Posts
Is anyone having this problem with the moser 9"? I ordered a set of Wolfe bushings for my 9" and didn't know if that would cause a problem. I know what youre saying John, these ears are thick!!!

· Premium Member
2,256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·