Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just replaced my Rochester QJet with a Holley 700 cfm, but I am considering rebuilding the QJet and putting it back on my 70 Chevelle SS454. I am an amateur just starting out with my first project and would like to know which of the two carbs would be the better performer. Also, who supplies the best manual for rebuilding the QJet. [email protected]

------------------

·
Registered
2,030 Posts
I would suggest leaving the rebuilding of a quadrajet to an xpert my friend,,, I have tried many times to rebuild these carbs using an xpert an they only come out right about 1/2 the time,,, I use brand new ones on my restorations thats the only way to b sure that u get a good one,,,as far as performance I would rate the new 700 Holley and the QJ abiut the same,,, Good Luck L89SEDAN

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
Djm, maybe it was just luck, but I rebuilt a bunch of Q-jets in my early years and never had a problem. I read a bunch of articles and books on them, although that was so long ago I couldn't reference them for you. It isn't that hard. I always epoxied the machining plugs found in the main body and usually ran #72-74 primary jets and "QQ" rods. I never really played much with the secondary setup. It really isn't that hard. Maybe one of our bros here at TC whose done a bunch in the last 20 years can update you. I always found the Q-jet to give me more mid range and part throttle response. ( read that torque) than a Holley. If you dial in the jetting and metering rods, you'll find they work as well, if not better, than a Holley. Read a book or two, spend the $20 on a rebuild kit and have at it.

------------------

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4