Team Chevelle banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the owners of Richmond 5 speeds several months ago I hurt reverse in my trans and called Brian at SK Speed equipment in NY and in the process of getting that done I discussed how stiff the trans was shifting. He worked for D N before it was sold to Richmond and he told me the production specs for the hubs and sliders were different. I sent my hubs and sliders to him for machining and new syncros that are made of a different material. I have been running the trans now for several months the shifting has improved dramaticly as the new syncros have seated and shifting is much smoother. I have had several runs at the track also and have even power shifted with no problems 11.56 @ 117 MPH. So just for your info I like the upgrade and think it was a good investment. Aloha Mike

·
Premium Member
9,520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Mike,I bought it used supposedly minimal use and I put another few thousand miles on it before I sent it out. From what I have been told the Richmond version never shifted as well as the D N version.

·
Registered
3,794 Posts
Mike,

Wow, what a small world. I lived on LI NY and used to go to S&K Speed all the time. Brian has been there since the late 70's. They used to have a install shop and a dyno at one time.

Brian rebuilt several transmissions for myself and my friends. Thats for a trip down memory lane.

·
Premium Member
9,520 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I only know Brian over the phone but a great guy and his stuff works!!

·
Premium Member
2,709 Posts
Mike I'm glad to hear that your tranny is working better,I've never yet heard anything bad about Brian at SK.If & when the time comes for mine to need any work,I will be taking the same route as you did.
Guy

·
Banned
10,053 Posts
Mike, can you post the part # and link to the 5 speed you had and a phone number for the guy that repaired yours and maybe a link for him also?

Thanks

·