Chevelles.com banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12,845 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the new Feb 2000 issue on page 42, there is a good article about 10bolt rears. Any tidbit of info that can be absorbed is always good. If nothing else, there is a good comparison of a regular and an axle saver bearing.

------------------
Tom Parsons

·
Registered
150 Posts
Tom:
Just a quick, long note on axle saver bearings:
Had an F150 in the shop the other day that someone had attempted installing an axle saver bearing into. He said some guy that worked out of his garage did the work. He was not a mechanic by trade. Anyway, apparently when he pounded the saver bearing in, he knocked the snap ring loose inside that holds the rollers in place. (I've had that happen to me on occasion, but always re-install the snap ring. Those can be a pain to get into the tube sometimes.) Anyway, this one wasn't fixed and the owner drove it for about 300 miles before he had it towed to my shop. Needless to say, the axle and bearing were trashed as the rollers all went down the axle tube since nothing held them in place. The axle wore the tube out also, there was no way to put another bearing or seal in. It cost this guy about $1000 for another used housing, installation, etc.

Now, believe me, I am all for using axle saver bearings, but this post is a caution to all to be sure of what you are doing when installing these, or be certain that whoever is installing them knows what they are doing.

Please don't read this post and come to the conclusion that axle saver bearings are no good. They are excellent if installed properly.

------------------
70 & 1/2 RS Camaro
SB406 & M20 4spd
9" Rear
70 Malibu
SB350 & TH400

Gold Member # 103
Driveline Technician

·
Registered
12,845 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is a true statement,-------------------and should have been pointed out in previous discussions involving axle saver bearings.

------------------