Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this and don't want to mess up the car. I want to install a good stereo into my 72 Chevelle and was wondering if it lowers the value of the otherwise original car by doing that, and is there any radio that will fit in without cutting the dash? My option was to mount in the speakers, build a little kit that sits on the tranny hump,powers off of the lighter, and run the speaker leads to it; kind of a portable stereo. Thanks -

·
Registered
61 Posts
Custom Autosound makes stereo systems that fit early chevelles and are sold through most Chevelle catalogs. If you decide to change yours make sure you keep the original to sell with the car when you sell it.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Anne,

Year One Inc. in Atlanta has stereos in their Chevelle catalog that are designed specifically to fit in the dash of your 72 without cutting or modifying anything.

Year One is one of the best muscle car parts suppliers in the country. Give them a call and they will mail you a free catalog or help you select a radio for your car.

Year One Inc.
4559 Granite Drive
Tucker, Georgia
770-493-6568

And yes, keep the original radio with the car.

Good luck,

Bob

·
Registered
63 Posts