Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Administrator
1,967 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)

• Materials #1

Paints and Primers

Authored by Wes Vann, last revised on April12, 1997​

• PLEASE NOTE; I'm not a professional painter (although I've paintedseveral cars during my lengthy years). Some of the information is the resultof products that I have personally used. The remainder is from personsthat I feel are qualified to give honest, unbiased data.

Most of the products listed are from PPG. There are only a few companiesthat produce quality automotive paint products. There is Dupont, Sikkens,and also a German manufacturer whose name evades me right now. (for a latterrevision)

Regardless of the manufacturer that you chose, stick with that manufacturer!!!!

It's a requirement that any time that you spray paint, you wear a filteringmask. With certain paint products, it's also recommended that you havesome form of skin protection.

Due to changing environmental regulations, the availability of certainproducts may be limited or even illegal. New products are released to replacethe outlawed ones.

Any input is welcome!

• MAJOR POINT #1!! Except as noted, all primeris porous! Bondo is porous! Spot putty is porous!

The reason for playing this up is that any porous material can, andwill, soak up oil and water. It's possible for water to get through theprimer and rust the metal below. One source of oil that isn't always thoughtabout is from your hands. (during wet-sanding I tend to not worry aboutoil from my hands due to them getting dryed out, however, I've ended upwith fish-eyes due to when carrying the object, I rested it against mychest)