Team Chevelle banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, i just got my 72 malibu. It needs a tune up and alot of work. It was over heating really bad so first i took the radiator(original) to the shop so i wouldnt have to worry about that. Had 20% restriction and a little rust. Replaced the radiator hoses and removed intake valve to find no thermostat and rusted intake walls. i power washed what i could out and flushed the dirty water out. It runs better now but still blocked up. Could the narrower passage ways cause over heating in the water pump and intake manifold? Im a 19 year old noob and im learning as much as i can. any adivice would help . what else should i look for or check. everything is stock.

·
Registered
631 Posts
Ben,
There could be a bunch of reasons why. If you look above your post you will see a "Search" (third button in from the right), type in overheating and hit go. Tons of stuff that may help you out.

Mark

·
Registered
429 Posts
Like Mark said...There could be a bunch of reasons why it would run hot...
My experience was running a cheap reman water pump.It would take about 10min of driving to hit 210-220 degrees. I put on an Edelbrock w-pump and now it barely makes 185. Besides my blower my water pump was the best thing I ever spent money on.

·
Premium Member
2,173 Posts
Ben,

If it was overheating without a thermostat, you have other issues. BTW, that's called the thermostat housing. An intake valve is something else but we get the picture:thumbsup: Make sure you don't have a leaking head gasket. Check for bubbles in the water at the filler neck while it's running. This would be after it's been refilled and run for a while and topped off so all the trapped air has had time to escape. BE CAREFUL. You can get burned very badly messing with a hot running car's radiator.