Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just trying to learn as much as I can as I have no experience..... I have a fresh 396 with about 2k miles on it and it is consuming what I feel is excessive amount of oil...1 quart per 200 miles. I can smell it while driving and was told it may be a ring not seating. So I pulled the spark plugs today to see what cylinder is having the problem and all spark plugs look as if they are burning oil.. are all my rings bad on this fresh build? or is there something else going on I need to look for? I am hopeful of an less expensive fix than bad rings thanks in advance for your wisdom and replies.

·
Registered
2,863 Posts
You can try this, change oil to a non synthetic. Take the warmed up car out to a safe place in 2nd gear run the engine to 5500 rpm in second gear and let off the gas and let the car slow down on it's own (don't use the brake!), let the engine get below 2,000 rpm and repeat 3 or 4 more times, then drive the car normal for a few miles and repeat the session one more time then take it home. Let cool overnight and do it again. I would give this method 3 or 4 days in a row, so it would take like 4 days to get enough runs in and cool downs to help seat those rings. If you engine oil consumption isn't taken care of you need to look elsewhere. I have done this with success.

·
Super Moderator
13,074 Posts
Did you build the engine or somebody else ? What exactly was done to the engine ?

·
Super Moderator
13,074 Posts
I would run a non-synthetic oil in the 396 for about 5 to 10K and then try the synthetic again.
Am I missing something ? Where are you guys seeing that he is running synthetic oil ??

·
Premium Member
1968 Malibu sport coupe, 489 ci. 590 hp 600 tq, RV T-400 Freakshow 3200 stall, 3.73 12 bolt posi
8,284 Posts