Team Chevelle banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone here installed new speakers into the kick panels on a 68? I know you can buy them with the holes pre-cut, but they're asking too much, for less than what i have. So what I really want to know is what aftermarket speakers y'all have installed, and what's the largest anyone has? TIA

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts
SeaWolf - hey Nawlins Chevelle man - where you at? I'm on the Wharf....You have any King Cake yet? Speaker installation is on my list, but not there yet. Did you consider other locations for front speakers? If so, which ones? Thanks....

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, I was a student at Tulane, but I'm now at LSU in Baton Rouge. I was going to put my speakers in the kick panels up front and in the stock 6x9 slots in the rear deck. Tweeters can also be mounted anywhere, but I have some ideas. Since my car's yellow, I was looking at the pioneer rev series speaker. They're high quality, avg price, and yellow! I'm getting the windows tinted first though so that no one can see in and try to steal them. Hope it works. What ideas do you have?

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts
I was thinking in the doors somehow or up under the dash facing downward....I haven't done the research yet, so don't know the feasibility of either. Checked out your website - nice car; I like the bucket seats too!

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm going to update that site right now. The pics are really old and I have some nice new seats. In the doors would be great, but I don't know how much room there is, and door panels cost much more than kick panels if you mess them up, or for mere worth of the car. Under the dash would be good and hidden, but you wouldn't get the sound quality with them facing downward. Hard to mount there too. Anyone else have any ideas?

·
Premium Member
1,369 Posts