Chevelles.com banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brand new member and located in Middle Tennessee. I’m restoring my 70 4-door and I want to replace the small 10 bolt with either a 12 bolt or a Ford 9 inch.
1. What is the width for the rear end that I need? I have drums as of now.
2. I’d like to stick with the 12 bolt unless the Ford 9 inch is much better. What do yall think?

thank you very much in advance. I’m a novice at this, but I’ve wanted to restore a Chevelle my whole life. Very excited and humbly take all the help I can get!

·
Registered
360 Posts
What are your plans? Cruiser or drag car, what size engine to tear up the 10 bolt? Get a plan you can live with and adjust for your plan.

·
Premium Member
7,049 Posts
I'd go with a 12 bolt, direct fit and you can easily add disc brakes, plenty of kits out there, or leave the drums

·
Registered
From Australia to the USA.
187 Posts
Reach out to @Lionel-n-Chevelles if you looking For a 12 bolt.

He will build you one, and might be the cheapest around.

·
Registered
8,264 Posts
I put a Quick Performance 9” in my 67. 3:50, Tru-Trac, billet ends, 11” disc brakes, any width you want (that will work with the oem style brackets) I got mine 1/2” narrower than stock. Under $2,200 shipped to my door. I had to paint the housing, bolt the pig in and bolt the brakes on. I’m extremely happy with my purchase.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Im finishing up an aluminum 355 that will be around 450hp. Zero plans to race anything, just don’t want the more highway gears in it in case I get an itch to punch it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Definitely want to add disc brakes sooner rather than later. I’m just concerned about busting the rear end before I get to that. Is that valid or am I overreacting?

·
Registered
From Australia to the USA.
187 Posts
The 10 bolt is fairly strong unless you got 3 pedals and no sympathy or you like the smoke more than the go.