Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I've posted here before about my motor, and how it's lacking top end power. It has 400 882 heads. The bottom end of the motor is pretty stout, and the cam is a decent size, but I don't know the specs. All I know it's mild with about -13 vacuum at idle 850 RPMs. Would it be feasible to just change the heads to grab some power?

If so, what heads would you guys recommend? I'm looking for some pre fabbed heads that I can drop on and go. Can I keep my current lifters and push rods if I'm keeping the same cam? Does anyone have detailed instructions on how to change out the heads? I've never done it before, but I'd be willing to give it a try.

I daily the car, and drive about 5k miles per year.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,693 Posts
It would probably be nice to know the cam specs before you buy new heads.
Different heads will like different cam's and having them matched will help to improve performance.
As has been said on here many times a matched combo will make a world of difference.
If you do go ahead and buy new heads a pushrod checker should be used and then you will know exactly what length pushrods are required.
As for bolting on a new set of heads without checking them it can be done but is not recommended.
Here is a link you may find helpful;

http://www.chevelles.com/forums/18-engine/943665-new-aluminum-heads-need-checked.html
Guy

·
Registered
1,218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It would probably be nice to know the cam specs before you buy new heads.
Different heads will like different cam's and having them matched will help to improve performance.
As has been said on here many times a matched combo will make a world of difference.
If you do go ahead and buy new heads a pushrod checker should be used and then you will know exactly what length pushrods are required.