Team Chevelle banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!

this site is great, viewed it yesterday for the first time and answered alot of my questions in the first few minutes just by browzing,

I live near St Louis Mo, and im in process of restoring my Dads 1965 malibu, its a 2 dr hardtop, 283 4 speed car, he restored it in 1981:D , so its going to be a real pleasure stripping all the 27 year old paint off the car, its amazingly solid, 53xxx miles on her, 80 in the last 4 years or so, i cant wait to get her done and hand the keys to him, ive been procrastinating starting on it for 4 or 5 years:beers: , so i finally dove in head first, I got the front clip yanked off of it, and all the chrome trim and mldgs, next is get the front and rear glass out of it so i cant start the stripping and priming, i have a list of things i want to do to it! 4 wheel discs, new wheels and tires, freshen up the engine and muncie, rebuild front suspension, clean up frame and replace body bushings!, the interior is mint:thumbsup: , so i dont even have to open the doors except ofcourse to strip and refinish the jambs!

ive got lots of 35 mm photos but no digitals yet, im going to start a log of photos of the process and keep them on the pc, then ill be able to share them!

i look forward to being a member!:D

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
WOW.....cool deal.....a few of us here have 65's. Wasn't my first pick....but I stuck it out and she's starting to look like a car and it's growing on me. btw if you do the disc brake conversion....I have funny bit of news to relay on the brakes from PST.

Congrats and welcome.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
PST??

i saw the 800$ cheap conversion post here yesterday that looks pretty easy, plus i manage a collision center so i can get all the parts for cost, thay may be the route i take,

so whats the funny news??

·
Registered
1,229 Posts