Chevelles.com banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New best being a picture perfect wheelie :)
_MG_2248.JPG
I had just got off a 3 day chassis dyno session, tuning in some changes this year, including my new Foxwell ported Dart tunnel ram Carb and Intake Show and Tell. Pictures and words just don't do it justice. I've been a machinist for 40 yrs and Scott is absolutely a machine with his porting! Here it is on my pump gas 540 (notice the Santos Mahogany plenum spacer)-
IMG_0359.jpg
Here it is compared to a port matched only R2 tunnel ram-
Edelbrock to Dart dyno.jpg
I don't rely on peak chassis dyno numbers, only averages, and they're way up. Also, the "past peak" is way better. I wanted to do more testing with carb & plenum spacers & header extensions but ran out of time wanting to make Lapeer Dragway's 11/7 "Grudge" event. They had an excellent radial track prep that day. First run-
I knew when it left it was too aggressive. Trying to save the back end, I tried peddling, but only made it worse. It scraped & tweaked the back bumper, hard enough to slightly lift one tire off the ground, then smashed the headers & bent the oil pan. I know, shift don't lift...never again. Lower header tubes were smashed 50% but the car was still run-able. I ran to the hardware store, got bolts and installed them in my TRZ a-arms to limit travel. Made another run with too much limiting.
Readjusted limiters and had a picture perfect run, less a new best. I think the header situation hurt power and I need to work on the converter.
All in all a good day and something to talk about for this winter.

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
That engine is a beautiful piece! Like the no hood too :). I've never been that high but who knows if shifting would have brought it back down. Nice driving.

·
Registered
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #4