Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I spotted a 68SS today for sale and contacted the owner. He told me how it used to have the original 396 but it was now busted. He told me he ordered a new 396 and put it in. I didn't know you could still get new 396's.
I'm a novice about engines and would appreciate your help.
He also said that if he kept it he was planning on putting the heads off the old engine on the new one when the warranty expired. Why would he do that?
Thanks for the help guys, I'm all glossy eyed because it's almost identical to my very first car I owned 24 yrs ago!

Gary

·
Registered
12,974 Posts
I'm not aware of being able to get a "new" 396 from Chev Parts. Maybe it was new in that it was "newly rebuilt" by someone or a rebuilder. And yes, I can see putting the ORIGINAL heads heads on a replacement engine. In fact, I can see trying to find a correctly dated and engine coded block and and putting as much as possible from the original engine back on it. In fact, if you get the car and he has EVERY or ANY pieces from the original engine, GET IT.
What he says is busted may be repairable. For example, if it had a cracked cylinder, it could be sleeved and rebuilt. Suddenly you would have a numbers matching car!

------------------
Tom Parsons

·
Registered
339 Posts
A lot of water has gone under the bridge since 68. Doubtful if this could be put in show condition. If it suits your needs and the body is solid, priced right, go for it. When you get that itch, have to scratch it. Just understand that the car is probably not going to be an investment that will appreciate. But then again......

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Tom and Tom. I 've got a 68 Malibu in my building that I've pulled the motor tranny and front clip off of, but I'm suffering from the "resto blues" and haven't touched it for months. I think I