Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3,545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well, I've made a move to something I've been putting off for many years now.

I've got parts ordered to put a transbrake in the Malibu. I really don't much care for t-brakes, but I'm leaving a ton on the table footbraking on the .400 Pro tree my local index racing runs. My average lights shallow footbraking are .600 and maybe .530-570 if I bump in more. I'm leaving almost a tenth and a half on the table right out of the gate against fellow racers running brakes.

So, even though I really don't want one, I think the car needs one to be competitive in the class I've chosen.

On order is a Griner Pro Start transbrake. This was recommended to me as the quickest th400 brake, built as a clean sheet of paper design machined from a block of billet aluminum and utilizes an internal solenoid.

Also coming is a gasket seal kit, Biondo Double O button and MSD 8735 Launch control 3 step.

In the past I wanted to put a brake in, but ATI keeps reminding me that my current Treemaster isn't built for t-brake use. At least once or twice in the past I gave up on installing the brake due to this fact. Not this time. I spoke with kenny Ford at PTC and am having another converter being built for my combination, yet be durable enough for t-brake use. My current converter flashes to 5900-6000 rpm, Kenny is planning the new PTC to be between 5500-6000 rpm.

If anything, I have been wanting to try a second converter to compare against the current ATI. You never know how good one is till you try it against something else.

Anyway, it's my plan to have the new t-brake setup installed for not this coming weekends race, but the next scheduled race in June. I need to get the trans buttoned up, all the electrical installed and get out and test once or twice at the track to familiarize myself with the operation as well as making any needed chassis tweaks.