Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, first of all I am a noob to this site so take it easy on me...

I need your help. I have a 1969 396 325hp original with a Rochester Qjet, 400 tranny

I installed a Lunati Voodoo 10110701 cam with new springs and flat lifters....I really took my time so I pretty sure the installation is good but I have a problem that I cannot figure out.

When I go for it from a slow roll, it takes off like a bat out of hell...then when I get close to the shift point, the motor chokes, sputters and almost dies off...almost feels like the I am floating the lifters....then it will pick up and run great until the next shift and does the same thing again...

I have tried alot of different timings and setups and nothing seems to make any difference....out of ideas...anyone have any idea what may be causing my problem....

Any help will be greatly appreciated....

·
Premium Member
3,707 Posts
IHMO, you have a carb, tranny, or distributor/electrical issue....and are NOT floating the lifters.

When was the last time you need a basic tune up? Was the tranny working fine BEFORE you changed the cam?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
IHMO, you have a carb, tranny, or distributor/electrical issue....and are NOT floating the lifters.

When was the last time you need a basic tune up? Was the tranny working fine BEFORE you changed the cam?
Hey Tony, I didn't really think I was really floating the lifters (That's what it feels like...) and that I figured I had a problem somewhere else...the tranny was working fine before the cam installation...and tuning it was the very first thing I did...

Is it possible that I am having a tranny shift point problem...or a vacumn problem on the tranny governer...???

·
Premium Member
3,707 Posts
If the tranny was fine before the cam change, you should be fine now.