Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was heading towards a Wal-mart on a back road when some rice rocket thought that he could get away with going 15 or 20 mph in a 55. So I down shifted and laided into it. The car backfired three or four times real quick then idled up. The car would come back down under 2000 rpm !!! I thought that somehow maybe my linkage got suck, but that wasnt it. I was burning points, yes points, I'm a student, so i put a ballast resisitor in to cut the volts down to 6. So I was wondering maybe, because this was my third set of points and I didnt want to change them again, maybe these points are toasted also? Would that cause it. And how do I bring the idle down? I advanced it an incrediable amount just so I woundnt cause hot spots on my drums. But then it wont start. I understand the starting thing, but not the high idleing. I have a 4160 holley 650 w/ vacuum secondaries, an edelbrock performer manifold, and a .440 equal lift cam in my 327. I also have a 2400 stall converter too. I was hopeing that someone out there goes, " Ya I remember when my 66 did that and all you have to do is...." The only plus side is, if you want to call it that because it is entirely expected, is I left that four banger that is producing 92 whole horsepower at peak, behind me! Thanks Gil

·
Registered
341 Posts
Possibly jumped timing or point gap way off causing timing to advance? Blown power valve in Holley? Four barrel butterflies slightly held open?

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
hi, just read your guys replies. Its not the power valve, I have a saver in it. The timing chain and sprockets are new so i dont think that is the problem. I can check the secondaries. Thanks guys, if you think of anything else, let me know. Gil

·
Premium Member
2,035 Posts
yep,