Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to buy a mig welder to finish the trunck and floor pans in my 71 SS. Do i need a mig with the gas cylinder or can i find a budget model without gas that will work ok.

·
Registered
37 Posts
IF YOU DIG AROUND YOU WILL FIND OTHER POST ON THISSUBJECT
I SELL WELDERS FOR A LIVING SO I'M A SELF APPOINTED EXPERT
YOU DEFINATLY NEED GAS, PREFERABLY 75%ARGON/25%CO2 YOU CAN GET BY WITH STRAIGHT CO2 BUT IT DRASTICALLY CHANGES THE CHARACTER OF YOUR ARC (HARSHER ARC MORE SPATTER)
AS FAR AS BUYING A WELDER A GOOD 110 VOLT WELDER WILL DO EVERYTHING YOU NEED I PERSONALLY HAVE THE HOBART HANDLER WHICH DOES AN EXELLENT JOB. THE THING ABOUT WLDERS IS LIKE ANYTHING ELSE YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. I THINK YOU SHOULD STICK WITH A NAME BRAND MILLER, HOBART, OR LINCOLN. NOT SAYING THE CHEAPIES DONT WORK BUT I CANT TELL YOU HOW MANY TIMES I'VE HAD PEOPLE CALL MY STORE UNHAPPY WITH THEIR MAILORDER CHEAP WELDER.
LINCOLN MAKES TWO TYPE 110 WELDERS THE ONE IN THE HARDWARE STORES ARE NOT THE SAME QUALITY AS THE ONES IN THE WELDING SUPPLY STORES. IF IN DOUBT WEIGHT IS THE DETERMINING FACTOR, THE HEVIER THE BETTER
IF YOU HAVE ANY QUETIONS OR NEED HELP E-MAIL ME
[email protected]

·
Registered
37 Posts
Radd,
I agree with everything Racer70 said and would like to add one thing. If you buy one of the name brands (Miller, Lincoln) you can run them either way, gas or gasless. The machine is the same. To run gasless, you buy flux core wire. To set it up for gas just get the tank and regulator, switch to solid wire and your ready to go.
Solid wire/gas gives a cleaner weld, but doesn't work well ouside because the wind blows the gas away. Switch to gasless for outside, works fine.
GaryR

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·