Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm in my last year of college, looking forward to a mechanical engineering degree in May. I'm taking a manufacturing class right now in which each of us designs a particular product and manufactures it on CNC lathes/mills in the machine shop. I am turning out two runs of shifter knobs, one to fit 64-7 shifters and another run to fit 68-72. I was planning on making the ball itself out of some type of aircraft-grade aluminum, and I'd include a set of shifter medallions (4, 5, and 6 speed patterns) that would thread into the top of the ball (to keep the OD guys happy
). These will be of unmatched quality since they are all CNC manufactured. Is anyone interested in purchasing one of these at the end of my semester? I'm planning to run off ~40 of them to recoup my material investment (stock ain't cheap!). Feel free to give me any input on design or your general interest. Thanks!!

·
Registered
170 Posts
Sign me up for a 68-72 (1 4speed medallion-can I buy also just a 5-speed medallion ?)

------------------

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
Man I wish you were around last summer. You could've made up some adapters to fit stock handles onto pre 68 Muncies with Hurst shifters. I figured they were good for $50 a pop. Good luck in the project.

·
Premium Member
3,804 Posts
Discussion Starter #5