Chevelles.com banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At the last car show I was at I saw a real nice 69 Chevelle SS.I heard that the owner had done a total restoration and soon after someone ran a stop sign and smashed it up pretty good.He then found a malibu body and switched everything over, even the vin#'s Some people I talk to say that this can be done as long as you have a title to both cars.Is this legal?

·
Registered
777 Posts
I'm no lawyer, so I can only offer an opinion, and that is no. How would you feel if you spent good money on a nicely built SS, only to find out somehow later that it was simply a clone? Which in effect this is. Again, this is just one opinion.

------------------
Madness takes it's toll, please have exact change.

Fred
'70 Chevelle
http://www.geocities.com/motorcity/shop/9385/1970Chevelle.html

·
Premium Member
9,801 Posts
If that car is sold across a state line, something may hit the fan big time. I have brought a few vehicles into Arizona and they have what they call a level 2 inspection which compares the vin tag to the hidden numbers on the body and frame.I suspect that such an altered car would be impounded.

·
Registered
425 Posts
Sounds like 2 issues here.

1) Is it legal to take 2 cars and make it into 1.

2) Is it legal to move parts from an SS onto a Malibu and call it an SS.

As for #1, salvage yards that rebuild and sell cars do things like that all of the time. You would have to talk to your state DMV as to what the legal process is etc. I also believe they issue a salvage title for these type of cars.

As for #2, this has been beat to death in another post. In this case it sounds like they are rebuilding a real SS with parts from a malibu. We re-build our cars everyday with generic parts. Now, are they planning to re-stamp ( fake) the numbers ????

my $0.02

Bill

·
Premium Member
1,337 Posts