Team Chevelle banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,588 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK...to many here more experienced than I this might sound like a silly topic. I realize the basic concept of removing/replacing the intake but I've never done it before and I wanted to get some input on the basics (step by step) so that I don't make any beginner mistakes!
*Are there things I should make note of before I remove it? I realize that I will want to make specific note of the dist. position before pulling it so that I get it back the same way (or close enough to fire up and then set initial).

*I have read posts of others getting leaks in the corners where the block and heads meet because of something they forgot or didn't quite address properly. What's the best approach to avoid this? How long do you allow RTV to set up before assembling and is there such a thing as too long?

*I have read that you want to use a gasket adhesive to apply the gasket to the heads and allow that to set up before assembly...correct?

*I have an older ('92 vintage) Holley aluminum intake and don't know the torque spec on the bolts...would a newer Edelbrock intake (25 ft-lbs) be comparable?

Anything I forgot?

I apologize for the length and appreciate any feedback...as always!:)

·
Gold Founding Member
10,967 Posts
The Chevrolet engine architecture is something of a pain in the tuckus; both the distributor and the coolant passages go through the intake manifold--so--R 'n' R of the manifold means you have to re-time the engine, AND you're gonna get wet.

Other GM engine families put the distributor directly into the block (Pontiac and Olds) or into the front timing chain area (Buick and Cadillac) so you don't have to dick with the distributor to change the intake manifold. Smart idea...