Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going to be putting my front end back together, and this is my first time doing it. I got new coil springs fro OPGI. The old ones I took out had a flat end on one end and on the new ones there is no flat end. Not sure how the new ones are suppose to go in... I heard that you're suppose to "clock" them, but not really sure what that means or how to do it. Any help would be appreciated!

·
Vendor
1,485 Posts
Going to be putting my front end back together, and this is my first time doing it. I got new coil springs fro OPGI. The old ones I took out had a flat end on one end and on the new ones there is no flat end. Not sure how the new ones are suppose to go in... I heard that you're suppose to "clock" them, but not really sure what that means or how to do it. Any help would be appreciated!
If your using factory lower a-arms there should be 2 small holes, the end of the coil spring should rest (clock) between these holes. If this is done properly the top of the spring should be clocked correctly as well.

Aftermarket lower a-arms usually have a ramp in the spring bucket that the end of the coil spring goes up against so that it is clocked correctly.

Most aftermarket springs have a "cut flat end" that have to be installed towards the top for the spring to be seated correctly.

Craig

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Craig, thanks for the response I was chatting last week with you about control arms....I went with your guy's control arms "UMI" both upper and lower, I'm assuming your advice is true with your arms? There is no flat end on my springs, with that, is there a certain end that goes up or down? My new springs are black and have a white dot painted on one end of them. Could that mean anything?

·
Vendor
1,485 Posts