Team Chevelle banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1971 Chevelle, 350 Small Block
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! I purchased the UMI stage two suspension package for my 1971 Chevelle. Just curious, has anyone installed this themselves? How hard of a job is it to do yourself? Roughly, how long did it take you? Anything I should know before trying to tackle this myself?

im mechanically inclined and have tackled some decent projects so im not a newbie. Ive just never done any suspension work so this is new to me. Just trying to decide if this is something I should tackle myself or bring to a shop. Also, how much do you think a shop might charge for this?

·
Registered
Ryan
1,641 Posts
While I don’t have a UMI stage 2 kit, I have replaced all of my components with similar parts. It’s very doable with some mechanical aptitude and hand tools. You could do it in a weekend I’d think. Breaking ball joints free from your spindle might be difficult. I prefer my trusty 5 lb sledge hammer for this job. The rear end can be cumbersome but if you change one trailing arm at a time, it’s not bad. Use plenty of lube for poly bushings. Don’t torque your new parts until the tires are in the ground holding the vehicles full weight. You may need to set your toe in the garage before taking it to the alignment shop. There’s some threads here about it. I’ve done it with 2 levels, 4 boxes of latex gloves and two tape measures. It’s not hard. Did I miss anything? Someone else will chime in.

Oh, and take the time to ensure your front springs are seated properly in their pockets. Dont just put it in blind and assume it’s correct. Also remember to support the lower control arm when breaking free your ball joints. I almost lost a finger this way when I was 17 because I didn’t know better.

Reactions: Amoasser711

·
Registered
402 Posts