Chevelles.com banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
518 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my '69 Chevelle in 1989 when I was 19. Unfortunately, it has sat for 9 years (Marriage - kid #1 - Kid #2 - Kid #3), and recently, the "Itch" has returned and I would like to finish it.

I am not an electrical expert, by far (I know enough to be dangerous, and "don't put your finger there, cause it'll hurt), and am experiencing an electrical problem which I have no clue as how to resolve. Basic information on my vehicle is listed, below.

Vehicle: 1969 Chevrolet Chevelle 2 Door Sport Coupe
Engine: 1973 Vintage 350 CID
Transmission: 350TH
Misc. Info: Ingnition conversion to HEI Distributer (HEI Module is Good), Summit Remote (ford-style) Starter Solenoid. When I converted to HEI I removed the GM resistance wire, and replaced it with a stranded 12 GA wire to the firewall junction block.

Normally, when you turn the key-switch to "on/run" (not start), the idiot lights should come on. Then you turn to the "momentary" start position, and the starter cranks/fires/starts the engine.

Years ago, after I converted it to floor shift, I had to over ride (temporarily) the key switch "start" position with a momentary starter push-button (sometimes the key-start work, but more often than not it doesn't). The problem has excalated so that now, when I turn the key-lock/switch to the run position, the idiot lights in my dash do not come on. They DO come on when I rotate the key-switch to "start". If I let it spring back to run, the idiot lights go off. If Keylock is in the run position, and I engage the starter with the button, the engine will crank all day (or as long as the battery holds out), but I'm not getting any spark to the plugs. If I hold the keyswitch in the start position and simultaneously engage the starter (via the pushbutton), the engine will crank and fire, but, as soon as I let the keylock in the column spring back to run, we're back to the no spark issue again.