Team Chevelle banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,030 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wonderin'... I ended up getting an MSD 8360 mechanical stuff distributor instead of the 8394 with electrical stuff. So now I am playing with colored bushings for advance, which I don't mind at all. At least I can see it!

Anyway, I have a 21 degree bushing in it now, going from 17 to 38 degrees. Hooking up my MityVac to the vacuum canister, the idle speed goes up when I start to pull in vacuum and raise the timing. Soooo.... them the motor is producing more RPM with the same throttle plate setting. It seems happier with a titch more idle advance. Should I put in the 18 degree bushing and go 20 to 38, if the starter doesn't mind? I am only 9.6:1, reduced by 4200' of altitude. If the starter cares, how will it tell you? No crank? Slow crank? Creepy noises?

·
Registered
7,729 Posts
Usually you need to advance the initial to get a cleaner idle, thats the main purpose.
I don't think you will need to put the 18 degree bushing.
But to answer your question it should start ok no porblem at 20 degrees base.
A common symton of over initial timing is slow cranking or starting kicking back.

Dave

·
Registered
18,906 Posts
i don't see why not.. and since your motor likes the vacuum advance at idle (i think every engine does), then hook that up to full manifold vacuum and tune the carb around that. you might wind up with a carb that has the throttle blades pretty much totally closed at idle, but that's a good thing and means that the carb will be totally running on the idle circuit at idle and also means less throttle opening at cruising speed- which means better throttle response and miles per gallon.

just don't freak out when you see 40-something degrees of advance at idle when you hook the timing light up.. that's ok- that's what the vacuum advance is for.

·
Premium Member
1,292 Posts