Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to these forums and would like to say that there are some great posts. I have a 1972 El Camino that has the gen. idiot light on constantly. It has been this way ever since my alternator shorted one night and fried my fusible link at the starter. I have replaced the alternator, the starter/selenoid was replaced about 3 weeks before that, and i ran new wire to from the alternator to the voltage regulator(which was also replaced). When i stick a volt meter to the battery, i get around 12 volts, usually a little under. My only question is where do i look for the problem. It is a 350 and has an hei dist. The only thing i could think might be causing a problem is i used the 12v pink wire from the ignition to power the hei, but ive read that that is the best way to do it. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
7,762 Posts
Troubleshooting the GEN light problem.
1, Remove the plug from the regulator.
2, Turn the ignition key to the ON position.
3, Measure the regulator connector brown wire to a good ground. You should have around 12 volts.
4, If (3) is around 12 volts, switch the key to OFF.
5, Install the regulator connector.
6, Remove the plug from the alternator.
7, Turn the ignition key to the ON position.
8, Measure the alternator connector blue wire to a good ground. You should have around 12 volts.
9, If (8) is around 12 volts, switch the key to OFF.
10, Install the alternator connector and start the engine.
11, Again measure the alternator connector blue wire to a good ground. You should have around 12+ volts.
Post back the results.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I had the exact same thing happen to my 70 El Camino. It turned out that the new alternator was bad. Bring it by Autozone and they can check it for free......

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·