Team Chevelle banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

Premium Member
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start by saying I'm not naive. I've been buying and selling cars and parts for over 30 years. Sometimes I make money, sometimes I lose but that's how the game goes.

So last weekend, while eating my lunch on Sunday I'm cruising Craigslist. I have my distance set to 250 miles because I'm in a small community and that gets me closer to big cities. I run across an ad for a car I'm interested in. It's priced well and I can afford it. I try calling the seller, no answer, but I get a text a minute later. We go back and forth, He's showing it today to other people today, I'm 4 hours away, I can't get there where he is for 2 weeks due to life commitments. I ask if he'll hold it for a deposit, he says he will after the others come look. I contact him later in the evening, says he still has the car.

Next day I put cash in the bank for the deposit, wants me to use some cashapp website I've never heard of before. I called and talked to him, the story sounds good, move forward. Try to make that work, not happening, finally he offers to accept through Facebook. I don't have it but the wife does and she gets it done. That was Monday.

Today he contacts me, explaining that he's buying an SUV for his wife, and could I send him a bigger deposit? Big red flag. I say no, he gets the remainder when I get the car. We go through it again that I can't get there for 2 weeks to pick it up. He starts to get snotty with me and says he's going to send me back my deposit and not sell me the car because I'm a jerk. Then he sends me a pic of the car on a trailer and says he could have delivered it if I'd been nice, yet on initial contact, there was only a few pics of it in a barn and he said that he couldn't get in front of it to get better pics.

Deposit coming back? I don't think so. I'm out some cash which hurts, but it's my play money, not our grocery or mortgage.

Be careful guys.

Devin

Premium Member