Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1966 El camino and just bought a EXIDE group 24 battery.I have seen different topper and decal but not sure what is best.Was the OE battery a DC-12, is the caps yellow with black letter or black with yellow?Anyopne have some good pic of ones done? What sticker are correct? Thanks for any help.

·
Premium Member
Bill
1,456 Posts

I was going to get one of the plastic covers but instead I just found a black flat top battery at Batteries Plus and then pulled all of the brand name stickers off of it. It is a good compromise.

·
Premium Member
897 Posts
The '66 battery was a tar top (last year) Delco DC-12 with black caps saying DELCO with yellow lettering. No decals on top. I have no experience or advice re toppers.

Greg

·
Registered
1969 Chevelle 2 Door Sport Coupe Malibu COPO clone
5,638 Posts
:cool: The toppers are similar in appearance to the real thing. On my topper I had to move and enlarge the holes slightly so the holes were centered on the posts. I used carpet tape to attach it to the battery. The only issue now is if someone (body shop, etc.) needs to remove the battery they may rip off the cover midway through the process and drop the battery on the fender or their foot, etc.

·
Registered
5,332 Posts
I use a Walmart Everstart battery with the decals removed.

Reactions: Bandit1978

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The EXIDE group 24 is a flat top and fits a topper

I Have a topper but it has yellow caps and is a smooth top. .
I found another one that I think looks more like a tar top but also has yellow cap. see photo.
Also did they hace the cap with the green eye?

Attachments

·
Registered
989 Posts
The green eye thing came out way later on when the batteries were semi non refillable for lazy people...