Team Chevelle banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Those darn dash clocks! I've never seen one work. I've never heard of one working. I'm convinced they came from the factory broken. Because of this, I have have made it my personal vendetta to fix the on in my '67. Does anyone know the secret? I'm new to restoration, and even mechancics altogether (please type slow so I'll understand), so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

·
Premium Member
4,478 Posts
Clocks really aren't my bag, radios are, but I've taken apart an original '70 Chevelle Malibu clock and a '65 Ford Galaxie clock and misc. and worked on them.

The units were "all" made by General Time Corp. The outside case may say "BORG" or something else, but I believe all were made by General Time.

Not a really good design...
But what do expect for 30+ years ago.

The #1 thing I see is fryed coils.
#2 thing I see is jammed main springs.

#3 is corrosion.

All problems are sort of related in a way.

Here's how they work (rather how they are suppose to work
)

The mainspring just like in the 'ol days in the old wristwatches you had to wind, were wound up tight. They'd slowly unwind causing the gearing to turn with ran the clock.

There's a little "escape" wheel that controls the rate of release and causes it to "tick" at regular intervals.

So what happens when the mainspring unravels all the way. Well duh, no one's there to wind it! Except for 12 Volts!

There's a little contact mounted on a pivot on the same rod the mainspring is wound around. When it unwinds, the contact slowly reaches a post with another contact.

Zzzzzap! the 2 contacts complete an electrical connection that sends 12 volts to the coils that electromagnetically "kick" a tiny lever that sends the mainspring winding back with fury. And the whole thing starts all over again. (happens about every 2-3minutes)...

Here's the bad...