Team Chevelle banner

HI I am new to team Chevelle thanks for having me. Does any one know anything about anti hop bars?

336 Views 14 Replies 13 Participants Last post by  RAIDER SS
I would like to know something about anti hop bars ? I bought a 1971 Chevelle about a year ago I drove it home
and could not go faster than 50 MPH it shook bad and I did not like the color and paint so I started stripping the car
and fixing things. But the Question I have is about anti hop bars Do anti hop bars cause a shake in the car at
high speeds? Do they work ? Also when I removed the shocks it seemed like the rear end would drop out of the car and did not want to let the it go. The car is in pieces right now and I will remove the frame and build the car from the frame up I am installing a Tremec TKX 5 speed I had the drive shaft shortened and balanced. I am also thinking I will need a adjustable upper control arm to dial everything in. So I am asking are these anti hop bars worth It?
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Premium Member
3,475 Posts
Welcome to Team Chevelle.
Going to suggest that you put your question in the heading Mechanical and in Brakes suspension and Steering for better results to your question.
Here you may get results but only from those greeting you to the Team!
Again welcome!
Casey

· Premium Member
25,103 Posts
Definitely not if they were installed by PO to cover up wheel hop. ( pumpkin bushings are likely toast) Save them for now, but don't use them just yet. Your ADJ uppers will allow you dial in the pinion angle at the right time. The no hops also change the instant center i believe. Nice fat anti-sway bar is a better deal if one isn't already installed.

EDIT: Oh shit, how rude! Thnx Casey I went right into help mode there ' WELCOME TO TEAM CHEVELLE!

· Registered
1969 Chevelle 2 Door Sport Coupe Malibu SS 396 clone
6,191 Posts