Chevelles.com banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, i have a 68 with a 327 in it. The car has been sitting for 15 years and has not been started or even turned over during that time. Do not know why it stopped running.

I am not an engine expert but i am sure there has to be some surface rust in the cylinders since it hasnt been turned over or lubed up. What i was thinking is to dump "something" down the carbuerators, spark plugs, let it sit, eat up the rust, then change drain the system of this "something" and oil, pour some oil in it again and try and turn the motor over by hand to free it up and lube it up. Once it is freed up i would change the oil in again to get any metal or rust out of the motor and then go from there and try and get her running again.

Does any one know of a better way or is this a decent idea? If this is a decent idea, does any one have some sort of mix for that 'something' like kerosene, wd40, liquid wrench, motor oil????

If anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated.

Right now i do not want to rebuild the motor so if i can get away with not doing it then that is my goal. If i ruin the cylinders, i ruin the cylinders and have to rebuild it anyway.

Let me know, it would be much appreciated

Thanks

·
Premium Member
1,554 Posts
I have heard that you should use marvel mystery oil. Let it sit and try turning it by hand. I have never tried this before, but I know people who swear by it.

·
Registered
452 Posts
Marvel mystery oil is what I have used but I always have two main concerns with an engine sitting for that long and not lubed for storage.

The rust in the cylinders and rings then the valve springs on the engine that were stuck in the open position for all those years.

Depending on the climate the surface rust can be minimal but I have noticed engines that sit can develop stuck rings which can really cause issues.