Team Chevelle banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to convert from a 72 column shift, sweep dash, to a ss guage dash with floor shift. I'm wondering, can I convert the existing dash harness or do I just need to get a new harness? I also do believe that the engine, forward light, and rear harness should still work, is that correct? Thank's for the help. Dave.

·
Premium Member
7,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Technically the car is a 72, I'm changing the front end to 71 grill and bezel's. It had a sweep dash, and I just got a repop SS dash from Year One. And I'm just beginning to figure out what all I need to do to get it to work. I haven't ordered anything else yet. Just wondering if I need a SS dash harness or can I convert the one I got?

·
Registered
7,758 Posts
Need one for a 72. The 70/71 SS gage dash harnesses are different. You will need to run a couple of extra wires under the hood but otherwise the under hood haresses will work.

·
Premium Member
7,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've got a 72 dash harness, but I need to get a ss dash harness for 72 so it will plug into the firewall? I may need to just look into getting a whole new 71 harness for the car. probably would be the easiest, smarter way to go. Who sell's the best aftermarket harness's? Thank's for the help John. See ya later, Dave.

·
Registered
7,758 Posts
"I've got a 72 dash harness, but I need to get a ss dash harness for 72 so it will plug into the firewall?"

Yes, because the wiring under the hood is 72. If you search on EBAY there is no such thing as a 70/71/72 SS gage dash harness. Some people list them that way. The 72 is different.

·
Registered
1,747 Posts