Team Chevelle banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part May's Ride of the Month Challenge!

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
451 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am planning on doing a pegleg swap out to posi on my old 10 bolter... how much trouble is it going to be, I've never done this before.... Going from a 331 open to either 308 or 256 Posi for gears to get some long range cruising performance... Have to drive it from AL to CA soon.... when I retire from the Army

------------------
'65 Maliblue 406SBC/PG TC #811
'94 Camaro 1LE (original owner)
'97 HD Softtail Springer

·
Registered
79 Posts
The first time you do it, is it kind of a pain in the butt. If you can remove the rear-end from the car, it will be easier for you to setup the gears in the long run. My biggest problem when I did my gear swap was spending so much time underneath the car, trying to do things carefully while laying on my side. I wish I had spent more time (and money) and removed the rear end from the car and just sat it on the bench while I did it.

I wouldn't personally drop from a 3.31 to a 2.56, 3.08 is more acceptable, but I'm really fond of 3.31 gears.

Read up on it, take your time, and have a good manual with you and you shouldn't really have a problem doing it.. Also, if you are going to do it in the car, try to jack it up as much as you safely can.

A good place to contact for help and parts is Randy's Ring and Pinion in Everett, WA; http://www.ring-pinion.com. The ratech diff kit in summit is also a good value, and comes with everything you need to swap the gears except for the outer axle bearings/seals.

Hope this was some help,

Wes

·
Registered
9,703 Posts